

PRESS RELEASE

22 February 2012

Shortlist announced for Halton's Business and Tourism Awards

Finalists shortlisted for Halton's Business and Tourism Awards 2012 have just been announced.

Their nominations will now be scrutinised by an expert judging panel and the winners presented with prizes at a glittering awards ceremony to be held at The Heath Business Park's newly refurbished Orchard Suite on Friday 30th March.

World champion hurdler and Olympic silver medallist Colin Jackson CBE will be the inspirational after dinner speaker adding a touch of sporting glamour to an event which has become one of the highlights of Halton's social calendar.

Steve Tilbrook, Event Manager for the 2012 Awards, said: ""In this year's awards, there are impressive nominations reflecting outstanding customer service and superb examples of businesses not just surviving, but being proactive and demonstrating that sound business practices can produce excellent results. And excellence is what the awards are all about."

The awards are organised jointly by Halton Chamber of Commerce and Enterprise and Runcorn & Widnes Tourism Business Network, supported by Halton Borough Council, and are now in their fourth year.

Places for the awards dinner are available to book at a cost of £45 plus VAT through Halton Chamber. Tel 01928 516142. Chamber members receive a 10 % discount.

FINALISTS Halton Business of the Year Cakes by Kerry Paragon PE Unique Embroidery

New Business of the Year

Daresbury Dairy Edge Elite Employment

Positive Environmental Impact Award

Amey Karalius Brothers Queensbridge

Innovation Award

Deal With It (SOG) GOSH Productions Paragon PE

Exporter of the Year

Conren Ineos ChlorVinyls Tall Security Print

Entrepreneur of the Year

Caz Moss - The Style Factory Claire Whitlow - Daresbury Dairy Paul Ward - Paragon PE

Outstanding Customer Service Award

Beautiful You Queensbridge Roadaid

Young Tourism Professional of the Year

Danny Myatt - Widnes Superbowl Zoe Rowe - Widnes Superbowl Joshua Williams - De Vere Village Daresbury Park

Recognition of Tourism Support Award

George Houghton - Fair Organ & Vintage Rally Sally Jones - Holiday Inn Lynn Steadman - Catalyst Science Discovery Centre

Innovation in the Visitor Economy

Daresbury Dairy Lewis Carroll Visitor Centre Widnes Vikings

Visitor Economy Team of the Year

Sales Team - De Vere Village Daresbury Park Operational Management Team - Norton Priory Crazy Club - Widnes Superbowl

Outstanding Customer Service in the Visitor Economy

Sam Elwell - Frankie & Benny's Jennifer Hibbert - De Vere Village Daresbury Park Kristine McCafferty - Reel Cinema For more information, contact Lynn Pegler,

Pegler Communications. Tel 01928 789042, Mob 07783 686246,

Email lynn@peglercommunications.co.uk